Skip to content

Bustle Up

June 27, 2011

So as you may have already read, I purchased my wedding dress on a pre-meditated whim, (if there can be such a thing). Basically, saw pictures, loved it, found a shop that would order it, and made the big purchase, all without ever having tried it on or seen it in person. Scary.

When the dress came in, meer weeks before the wedding, I was a ball of nerves. Luckily, my diet and exercise had paid off and it fit me perfectly. Like. A. Glove. This dress was made for me. And it was SO GORGEOUS! Much prettier than even the pictures, and… bonus… NO ALTERATIONS NEEDED! WAAHOOO! The only thing this dress needed was a bustle.

I have always prefered a traditional French bustle over an American or any other form of bustle. Seeing this dress for the first time and the massive amounts of tulle and pickups around the base of the dress I thought this dress would be a perfect candidate for a French Bustle. The seamstress confirmed my assumptions, and said it would really only need one button and hook to pick the back part of the skirt up off the ground, and it would just blend in to the rest of the dress. Piece of cake. We made a follow-up appointment for two weeks later, came back and tried on the dress and learned how to bustle it and we were done!

Here is where my word of warning comes in… and had I not been already two weeks out from the wedding and officially in bridal la-la-land I might have thought more practically and detected this… There is a lot of buz out there and people will tell you from experience to make sure you have a STRONG HOLDING BUSTLE, and that is correct, however you also need to have a bustle that picks enough of your skirt UP OFF THE GROUND. Unfortunately for me, I had the former, not the latter…

guest photo

guest photo

Look at all that skirt on the ground!!

I knew I would have a bit of a “sweeping train,” which is to say that some of the train would trail behind me, the girls at the bridal shop told me so. And at the time I was fine with it. It was so absorbed in staring at the lace appliques and fluffy layers of tulle on my dress I didn’t think about what a sweeping train would be like on a crowded dance floor, or outside dragging through the dirt as I walked across the plantation drive…

My “sweeping train” became a “weeping train” as people stepped on it (unintentionally) and I tripped over this tulle monstrosity that was hindering me from getting my dance on. Part of my dress even ripped from people stepping on it, as evidenced in the following photo.

guest photo

Immediately after we cut our cake, I snuck away and changed into my get-away dress and was able to move freely without worrying about someone stepping on the bottom of my dress. It was a bit of a sad and strange feeling to be relieved to take off my wedding dress, knowing this was the only day I was going to get to ever wear it!

MORAL OF THE STORY:
Make SURE that you can move around without worry when your dress is bustled! If you have a sweep train, think about your surroundings. Are you inside in a ball room? Outside dancing under the stars? Think about the material you dress is made of, and make smart choices about how to tuck up the train of your dress. And take your time when you are at your final fitting. Make sure you can walk and move, because you will be doing a lot of moving about and greeting guests, not to mention dancing! Make sure you have enough of your dress picked up off the floor after it is bustled so you won’t be concerned with guests stepping on you all night! 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tracy permalink
    July 19, 2011 11:30 pm

    Thanks for the blog. I love reading about others experiences….and I too am worried about my bustle. Your dress is absolutely gorgeous…and I would have fell in love with it too! hope all is well…and Im on a mission for a great bustle.

    • July 20, 2011 11:44 am

      Thanks Tracy and good luck with your bustle! It can really make a huge difference and a good one will allow you to move about comfortably at your reception!

  2. Dara permalink
    October 24, 2011 12:18 pm

    Hi RandiErin,

    I found your blog by searching for a Modern Trousseau gown that I absolutely love! If you don’t mind me asking, who was your dress by? You don’t discuss it in your recaps and I see it was a BIG secret as well 🙂

    Thanks for sharing your special day and please post more! Love your blog!

    • October 26, 2011 10:18 am

      Thanks for the comment Dara! My dress was Enzoani, the style was called Fernanda, it was from the 2011 line. You are right, I do need to post more! I have a dress re-cap coming, so be sure to look for it soon! Thanks for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

